Keys To Success
2500+ Completed Cases
15+ Years of Experience
With a first time DUI, always remember that a police officer must first have probable cause to give a field sobriety test or breath test at the scene. Once these grounds are established, they will administer a test to determine if they believe that the driver is driving illegally under the influence. If suspicions are confirmed, the driver will then be put into custody. At the station, they will likely ask the defendant to submit a chemical test. The chemical tests, while more accurate than field sobriety tests, can still be refuted with help from an expert defense attorney.
Once arrested for a first time DUI, the accused driver’s license will be replaced with a temporary permit that will expire at the end of the waiting period. During this period, the defendant must secure legal representation and speak to the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division to seek an administrative hearing. At this hearing, the defense will dispute the charges and fight to save the client’s driving privileges.
If found guilty of a First Time DUI offense, there can be harsh penalties. There are three different types of DUI charges in the state of Arizona: regular DUI, Extreme DUI, and Super Extreme DUI. Each of these has consequences that vary according to the charge.
For a regular DUI conviction, you can expect to face fines ranging above $1,000 and a short-term jail sentence. For an Extreme DUI, on the other hand, you can expect to face fines ranging above $2,000, suspended license for up to a year and a mandatory ignition interlock device.