Keys To Success

2500+ Completed Cases

15 Awards

15+ Years of Experience

Being charged with an assault is no small matter and can have lasting implications on your life if a conviction is achieved. Regardless of the reason or situation, assault charges will leave you with a criminal record that can deny you housing, employment, and various other licenses or permits.

What is Assault?

The definition of assault in the state of Arizona is when one person, either intentionally or recklessly, causes any physical harm to another person. Also, when an individual knowingly touches another person with the intent to injure, insult or provoke, or intentionally puts another person in the reasonable belief of imminent physical danger. This broad statement allows for just about any physical contact to constitute assault.

Now, with the social climate the way it is, assault charges are being filed more and more often, which can turn a push or grab of an arm into an assault charge. Even just a red mark or scratch can qualify as an “injury” in an assault charge, but by law, no actual injury is necessary to be charged and convicted of assault.

Many individuals who find themselves fighting assault charges end up getting into trouble over a simple argument, and one physical touch is enough to provoke these serious legal charges. When the defendant and victim are in a domestic relationship and live together, such as spouses, dating couples, roommates, family members, or other live-in individuals and an assault charge happens, it is domestic violence.

Arizona Punishments for Assault Charges

Assault charges are met with steep punishments that can include:

  • Probation
  • Fines up to $2,500
  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Mandatory community service

There are 2 classes of misdemeanor charges for assault cases that come with different fines and jail time.

  • For class 1 misdemeanor assault, defendants can face up to six months in jail and pay up to a max of $2,500.
  • For the less serious offense, class 2 misdemeanors carry a maximum jail sentence of four months and a financial penalty of $750.

While assault convictions come with less severe consequences than aggravated assault convictions, the implications associated can be devasting and long-lasting.

Trust Sonoran Law Group to Help Your Assault Case

Facing assault charges can be a scary and intimidating situation, but you should not go about it alone, for whatever reason. Courts can impose maximum penalties, and without an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your case, the impacts of an assault conviction can last much longer than just the maximum jail sentence.

You can trust that our expert criminal defense attorneys at Sonoran Law Group have the knowledge to seek the justice and fairness your case deserves. Our skilled team understands the various tactics that the prosecution takes when seeking convictions for assault charges and know the best defense strategies that will be applied to your specific case.

Get in touch with Sonoran Law Group and schedule your no-cost consultation to review the details of your case. Let us help you avoid the harsh penalties and see a more positive future. Do not waste any time — call us today!