Keys To Success

2500+ Completed Cases

15 Awards

15+ Years of Experience

When operating a vehicle, you are responsible for yourself, your passengers, as well as the safety of others and property while driving. It is a serious responsibility to undertake.

DUI’s are probably the most talked-about driving offense; reckless driving charges are in the same category of seriousness. While still classified as a misdemeanor, reckless driving in Arizona is one of the more serious offenses and can either be a class 1 or class 2 misdemeanor. The punishments are severe, which is why you need to take your charges seriously when faced with a reckless driving offense.

What Is Considered Reckless Driving?

In the state of Arizona, reckless driving is operating a vehicle in a reckless way, disregard for the safety of persons or property. This broadly defined charge can be enforced for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Speeding 25mph over the posted speed limit
  • Tailgating
  • Illegal passing
  • Weaving through traffic
  • Ignoring traffic signals and signs
  • Driving a vehicle known to have faulty brakes or other dangerous issues
  • Racing
  • Escaping from police after traffic stop

These situations all constitute reckless driving behavior, but factors that can determine the intent or seriousness of the charge can include:

  • The time of day
  • Was the driving safe
  • Weather conditions
  • Presence of other people
  • Was the act beyond negligence

Conviction Penalties for Reckless Driving

If convicted of a first-time reckless driving charge, the person would be guilty of a class 2 misdemeanor. The ruling judge may require that the individual surrender their driver’s license and report the conviction to the department of transportation. Driving privileges may be suspended for a maximum of 90 days, and once the conviction and order have been received, the judge may impose an even longer suspension as he/she sees fit.

On top of that, offenders may face up to a maximum of four months in jail and a fine of $750. Because reckless driving is considered to be a moving violation in the state of Arizona, offenders will receive 8 points on their driver’s license and be required to complete traffic school.

If you’ve been convicted of previous violations related to various laws, your conviction of reckless driving will be considered a class 1 misdemeanor and you will be required to serve at least 20 days in jail before consideration for probation, suspension, or release.

Upon having driving privileges suspended, if a court receives confirmation of employment or student responsibilities, the court may allow the defendant to continue employment or schooling for a maximum of 12 hours a day, five days a week. The remaining time during the day must be spent in jail until the sentence is completed.

Experience and Professionalism at Sonoran Law Group

Due to the seriousness of the offense, the consequences can be heavy and severely inconvenient for you and your loved ones. That is why it is imperative to seek experienced legal counsel in order to form the best defense for your case if you find yourself facing a reckless driving charge or other serious moving violations.

Having the right reckless driving lawyer on your side can have a significant impact on the outcome of your case and Sonoran Law Group is the best you will get. Contact us today, and let our reckless driving attorneys help you fight your reckless driving charges.