Keys To Success

2500+ Completed Cases

15 Awards

15+ Years of Experience

What is criminal speeding in Arizona? According to ARS §28-702.02, there are three possible ways to be charged with criminal speeding in Arizona, which are the following:

  • Exceed 35 mph in a school zone
  • Exceed over 20 mph above the posted speed limit (if none is posted, anything over 45 mph qualifies)
  • Exceed over 85 mph on the highways and freeways

Unlike a civil speeding ticket, a criminal speeding ticket is treated as though it’s a DUI or assault charge. You must attend an arraignment, face a number of pre-trial conferences, and potentially a trial. If you or a loved one has been charged with criminal speeding, our experienced Scottsdale criminal defense attorney can help you navigate the court system and fight for the justice you deserve.

What are the Penalties for Criminal Speeding?

Criminal speeding is considered a class 3 misdemeanor. The maximum penalty is 30 days in jail, a $500 fine including an 83% surcharge, and up to a year of probation. In addition to those penalties, you may be subject to attend a court-ordered defensive driving school.

Other consequences of a criminal speeding charge include:

  • Three points on your license
  • License suspension (depending on your accumulated points)
  • Higher insurance rates
  • Your vehicle can be towed
  • You can be arrested (under certain circumstances, due to other possible criminal charges)

Defend Your Rights in Maricopa County Today

While the consequences of criminal speeding are less severe than other crimes, having a conviction on your record lasts forever. With two decades of legal experience under our belts, our Scottsdale criminal speeding attorneys understand how determining speed can present a multitude of inaccuracies. Our goal is to thoroughly investigate the incident in order to determine if the arresting officer violated your rights. We serve clients throughout Chandler, Gilbert, Glendale, Mesa, Phoenix, Scottsdale, Tempe & surrounding areas.